null null
Award Winning Wildcats
Wednesday, April 02, 2014, 10:32:44 PM

Three Perth Wildcats players have received some of the League’s highest individual honours at the NBL’s Awards Night in Melbourne.

Damian Martin has become the first player in NBL history to win the League’s Best Defensive Player award four seasons in a row.

Martin became the first Wildcat to win the award in 2011 and has now won it every season since.

The ‘Cats captain’s statistics speak for themselves, smashing the competition in steals with 66 for the season, ahead of teammate James Ennis with 40 and Gary Ervin with 35.

Despite being a 186cm point guard, he also averaged 4.7 rebounds per game and terrorised attacking opponents with his emphatic shot blocking.

Perth Wildcats star import James Ennis was also rewarded for his amazing debut professional season by being named in the prestigious All-NBL First Team.

On top of his show-stopping slam dunks and game winning plays, Ennis scored 602 points (second in NBL), snatched 40 steals (second in NBL), grabbed 7.0 rebounds (fourth in NBL), made 140 free throws (first in NBL) and mad 59 triples (fifth in NBL) – all in the regular season.

Finally, in one of the stories of the season, Wildcats big man Tom Jervis has been named NBL Rookie of the Year.

Eight months ago, Jervis was looking to start a career outside of basketball when he got the call from Trevor Gleeson to join the Wildcats.

The East Perth Eagle then went on to play a big role with the Wildcats – especially with All-Star centre Matt Knight struggling with injury.

Jervis stepped up and made an impact, averaging 5.3 points per game at 46.4% and grabbing 4.9 rebounds.

He also blocked 37 shots, finishing third in the league in that category behind Andrew Ogilvy and Scott Morrison.

Unlucky to miss out on the major honour was James Ennis – who finished third in the MVP count behind Rotnei Clarke and Chris Goulding.

Despite leading the Wildcats to the best record in the league in his first season at the helm, Wildcats coach Trevor Gleeson was beaten to Coach of the Year by Wollongong’s Gordie McLeod.

The Wildcats will now continue to focus on their Grand Final series against the Adelaide 36ers, which starts on Monday at Perth Arena.

Tickets go on sale to the general public Thursday morning at 9am. Click HERE for tickets.